BASIC. Follow Jesus.

Ever thought much about what it really means to follow Jesus? I mean, I’m sure we’ve all spent time in church talking about what it means to follow Jesus. But, do our everyday lives really follow the steps of our Master? Check out this week’s video preview of “BASIC. Follow Jesus.”

We sometimes look at the Bible as words to build theological doctrines upon, as words to systematically study, or as words to memorize and meditate upon. But do we sometimes forget the most basic application of Scripture as words to do? As a life manual for how we are to live our everyday lives? Christ gives us a sobering reminder in Matthew 7 that God is not impressed with the fluff: “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven” (Matthew 7:21). So what is the will of our Heavenly Father exactly? For one thing, Jesus said, “Go, make disciples.” Are we intentionally seeking opportunities in our lives to live out this command?

Perhaps another interesting insight comes from Christ’s parable of the judgment in Matthew 25:

Then the King will say to those on His right hand, “Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.” … “Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.” (Matthew 25:34-40)

Notice that the Judge doesn’t say, “Because you believed the right doctrines” or “Because you worshiped on the right day” or “Because you tithed faithfully.” It all has to do with whether we live out love for one another. Of course, this parable is not intended to systematically outline the conditions of salvation – salvation comes by faith and grace alone! But this parable reveals the pivotal point that God is very concerned about whether or not we are serving the needs of others. One of the most important ways we follow Jesus, then, is by living out His example to our fellow brothers and sisters in this world. Everything else falls into place after that. “If you love Me, keep My commandments…. This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you” (John 14:15; 15:12).

You might also enjoy this video illustration, “Clean Your Room”:

(Videos and quoted materials taken from http://basicseries.com/)

Please share your thoughts with us!

